RSS

ABANDONMENT TO THE WILL OF GOD

20 May

“The abandonment of ourselves to God is the virtue of virtues; it is the flower of charity, the odour of humility, the merit, it would seem, of patience, the fruit of perseverance. Great indeed is this virtue, and worthy to be practised only by the most cherished children of God.

‘Father,’ said our sweet Saviour on the cross, ‘into thy hands I commend my Spirit.’ He wished to say, it is true that ‘all is consummated’ and that ‘I have accomplished everything which You commanded’; nevertheless, if it is Your will that I should still remain on this cross to suffer still further, I am satisfied; ‘into thy hands I commend my Spirit,’ do with It as thou wilt.

We also should act thus on all occasions, whether we suffer, or rejoice at some good fortune. We should allow ourselves to be led according to the good pleasure of the divine will, regardless of our own wishes.”
– St Francis de Sales

 

Tags: ,

Comments are closed.