RSS

“I WORRY SOMETIMES ABOUT HOW LITTLE I DO FOR CHRIST AND HIS CHURCH”

07 Aug

QUESTION: “I worry sometimes about how little I do for Christ and His Church. I live alone. I am a shy, quiet, diffident person and I find it hard to mix with others and as a result stay at home most of the time. I just go to Saturday Evening Mass and I pray a lot for others, but that seems too little. Please advise me.

ANSWER: Put your mind at ease. You are doing a lot. Your prayer might seem too little but all sincere prayer is answered and your prayer is contributing to the good of the Church. Remember the miracle of the feeding of the five thousand. Christ took what was offered to Him – the five loaves and two fishes – and having prayed over them handed them back and all ate and were satisfied. He took what was there already, used it to do what He did. What was given to Jesus was given back by Him transformed.

Likewise He will take the little we can offer Him and transform and magnify it and use it for the good of the Christian community to which we belong. Every small act of good we do is used by God for the good of His Church.”
– This article was published in “Saint Martin Magazine” issue July 2014. For subscriptions please visit http://www.stmartin.ie (external link).

 

Tags: , , , ,

Comments are closed.