12 Aug


Are not you, from ancient times Lord,
my God, my Holy One, who never dies?
Lord, you have made this people an instrument of justice,
set it firm as a rock in order to punish.

Your eyes are too pure to rest on wickedness,
you cannot look on at tyranny.
Why do you look on while men are treacherous,
and stay silent while the evil man swallows a better man than he?

You treat mankind like fishes in the sea,
like creeping, masterless things.
A people, these, who catch all on their hook,
who draw them with their net,
in their dragnet gather them,
and so, triumphantly, rejoice.

At this, they offer a sacrifice to their net,
and burn incense to their dragnet,
for providing them with luxury
and lavish food.
Are they then to empty their net unceasingly,
slaughtering nations without pity?

I will stand on my watchtower,
and take up my post on my battlements,
watching to see what he will say to me,
what answer he will make to my complaints.

Then the Lord answered and said,
“Write the vision down,
inscribe it on tablets
to be easily read,
since this vision is for its own time only:
eager for its fulfilment, it does not deceive;
if it comes slowly, wait,
for come it will, without fail.

“See, how he flags, he whose soul is not at rights,
but the upright man will live by his faithfulness.”

V. The word of the Lord.
R. Thanks be to God.


Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Comments are closed.