RSS

“EACH SMALL TASK OF EVERYDAY LIFE IS PART OF THE TOTAL HARMONY OF THE UNIVERSE” – BY ST THERESE OF LISIEUX

30 Sep

“This Wednesday, 1st October, we celebrate the feastday of St Therese of Lisieux… St Therese was born in France in 1873 and at the age of 16 entered the Carmelite Convent in Lisieux. St Therese had a childlike simplicity, utter humility, constant self-sacrifice and a boundless love for God. St Therese died at the young age of 24, having written ‘The Story of a Soul’, which is regarded as a spiritual classic. Here are some quotes from St Therese for our prayerful reflection:

• Our Lord’s love makes itself seen quite as much in the simplest of souls as in the most highly gifted, as long as there is no resistance offered to His grace.

• The science of loving, yes, that’s the only kind of science I want and I’d barter away everything I possess to win it.

• When I act as charity bids, I have this feeling that it is Jesus who is acting in me; the closer my union to Him, the greater my love for all.

• Above all it’s the gospels that occupy my mind when I’m at prayer. I’m always finding fresh lights there.

• Without love, deeds, even the most brilliant, count as nothing.

• Each small task of everyday life is a part of the total harmony of the universe.

• Time is but a shadow, a dream; already God sees us in glory and takes joy in our eternal beatitude. How this thought helps my soul! I understand why He let’s us suffer.

• How I thirst for Heaven – that blessed habitation where our love for Jesus will have no limit! But to get there we must suffer. Well, I wish to suffer all that shall please my Beloved, I wish to let Him do just as He wills with me.

• It is your arms Jesus, which are the elevator to carry me to heaven. So there is no need for me to grow up. In fact: just the opposite: I must become less and less.”
– From: Spiritual Thought from Fr Chris (Sept. 2014)

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 30, 2014 in Prayers for Ordinary Time

 

Tags: , , , , ,

Comments are closed.