RSS

TO PRAY IS TO ELEVATE OUR SOULS TO GOD WITH PROFOUND RESPECT

26 Jun

With the confidence of the most beloved child

“To pray is to elevate our souls to God and to converse with Him, with profound respect, and with a confidence greater than that with which the most beloved child reposes in his mother; it is to speak to Our Lord and master about everything high and low, divine and human, great and little; it is to open our hearts to Him, pouring them out before Him, keeping back nothing; it is to tell Him our troubles, our sins, our desires, in a word, everything that is in our minds; finally, it is to seek in Him our repose and our consolation, like a friend in his confidant, to whom he trusts all his affairs, good and bad.

Silence and repose in God are great treasures

Silence and repose in God are great treasures. All things speak to God, and are open to His eyes – my heart, my desires, my opinions, my trials, my knowledge, and my strength. And the eyes of my Divine Master are eyes which can remove my defects, inflame my desires, and give me wings to fly, provided that He desires my and His own service more than I desire them myself.”

– V. P. Alvarez

 

Tags: , , , ,

Comments are closed.