RSS

FERNYHALGH – KEEPING ALIVE THE FAITH IN PEOPLE WHOSE FATHERS HAD WORSHIPPED HERE IN BETTER DAYS

01 Aug

“An old Lancashire Mission

Searching recently for a record amongst a drawerful of papers brown with age and worm-eaten, I came across a list of subscriptions and contributions towards building a new College at Ushaw, remitted, at various times, to Bishop Gibson, by the Rev. Antony Lund. The amount reached a total of £1,260 4s. 7d. The Rev. Antony Lund was one of my predecessors at Fernyhalgh; and to him I owe the church wherein I minister and the house in which I am writing. I have thought that perhaps the editors will give me space in the Ushaw Magazine for an account of this interesting old mission, connected as it is with alma mater by the bounty of Mr. Lund.

Amid bluebells and white wood-sorrel…rises a spring of water known as the Ladye Well

Fernyhalgh is a secluded, well-wooded country spot in the eastern part of the township of Broughton, about four miles north of Preston. Here, hallowed by pious traditions, amid bluebells and white wood-sorrel and golden saxifrage and celandines, rises a spring of water known as the Ladye Well. Close by stood the first chapel of Fernyhalgh; but the date of its erection is not known…” (Fr D. O’Hara – to be continued)

 

Tags: , , ,

Comments are closed.