06 Aug

Prayers for the Memorial of St Laurence, Martyr (10th August)

V.Open-handed, he gave to the poor.

R. His justice stands firm for ever.

• I do not deny you, my God, upon the gridiron; when placed on the fire, I praised you, O Christ. You searched my heart, you visited me by night; you tested me by fire, and you found in me no wrong.

• When blessed Laurence was being burned upon the gridiron, he said to the cruel tyrant, “It is now cooked, turn me over and eat; for the hands of the poor have carried away the riches of the Church which you are seeking, to the treasury of heaven.”

Let us pray. Almighty God, quench in us the fires of passion, since you gave blessed Laurence the strength to overcome the flames of his suffering. Through our Lord Jesus Christ, your Son, who lives and reigns with you in the unity of the Holy Spirit, God, for ever and ever. Amen.


Tags: , , , , , , ,

Comments are closed.