RSS

CONSCIENCE CARRIES WITH IT ITS PROOF OF ITS DIVINE ORIGIN

17 Aug

A mere law of nature?

“I feel myself in his presence. He says to me, ‘Do this: don’t do that’. You may tell me that this dictate is a mere law of my nature, as is to joy or to grieve. No, it is the echo of a person speaking to me. Nothing shall persuade me that it does not ultimately proceed from a person external to me. It carries with it its proof of its divine origin. My nature feels towards it as towards a person. When I obey it, I feel a satisfaction; when I disobey, a soreness – just like that which I feel in pleasing or offending some revered friend.”

– Bl. John Henry Newman, A description of Conscience. Call., 314

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 17, 2015 in Words of Wisdom

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Comments are closed.