RSS

DO YOU WISH TO READ SOMETHING VERY TOUCHING, WHICH YOU WILL NOT FIND IN YOUR BOOKS?

27 Jan

Do you wish to hear something very affecting, which you will not find in your books?

If so, listen to the relation of a simple herdsman:

“I forget who it was that said to me one day: Jean Baptiste, you are very poor. That is true, I replied. If you were to fall sick, you and your wife and children would be without resources. That is true, I said, and I felt anxious the rest of the day.

“In the evening, at the Angelusmy thoughts became wiser, and I said to myself: Jean Baptiste, you are more than thirty years upon earth, you have never possessed anything, and, nevertheless, you live; each day you have had nourishment, and every night repose. As to trouble, God has never sent you more than your share; as to succour, you have had as much as was necessary for you. Who has given thee all this?

” God, I answered.

“Jean Baptiste, be no longer ungrateful, and banish anxiety from your mind; for what can induce you to think that when you grow old, when you have more wants, the hand from which you received so much will be closed? I said my prayers, and my anxiety was at an end for ever.”

– From: Golden Grains, Eighth Edition, H.M. Gill and Son, Dublin 1889

 

Tags: , , , , ,

Comments are closed.