RSS

I WAS AT THE POINT OF DEATH, MY SOUL WAS NEARING THE DEPTHS OF THE NETHER WORLD

04 Feb

Turn to God

I was at the point of death, my soul was nearing the depths of the nether world; I turned every way, but there was no one to help me, I looked for one to sustain me, but I could find no one.

But then I remembered the mercies of the Lord, his kindness through ages past; for he saves those who take refuge in him, and rescues them from every evil.

So I raised my voice from the very earth, from the gates of the nether world, my cry. I called out: 

“O Lord, you are my father, you are my champion and my saviour, do not abandon me in time of trouble, in the midst of storms and dangers. I will ever praise your name and be constant in my prayers to you.”

Thereupon the Lord heard my voice, he listened to my appeal; he saved me from evil of every kind and preserved me in time of trouble. For this reason I thank him and I praise him; I bless the name of the Lord. (Sirach 51:8-17)

 

 

 
 

Tags: , ,

Comments are closed.