RSS

IN THE SILENCE AND OBSCURITY OF THE NIGHT I KNOW GOD IS THERE

04 Feb

The Heart of Jesus is a love ever watchful.

The eye of the Lord rests always upon the just.

God sees all that is done to His child; He hears all that is said of His child; He is always ready to assist His child.

The eye of God rests always upon me; it does not pursue me in order to frighten; it follows with a sweet, loving, paternal regard, in order to encourage, to cheer, and to animate me.

In the midst of the crowd, who forget or despise me, I feel that I am not abandoned; and this intimate and deep knowledge sustains, strengthens, and makes me joyful.

A luminous ray

In the silence and obscurity of the night I know that there is a luminous ray which falls upon my soul and protects it from the terrors of darkness.

In the accomplishment of my duty I feel there is near me, invisible to others, but visible to my love, One who assists, inspires, and encourages me, One who, in return for all He does for me, only asks me to be faithful and diligent.

Oh! if I but knew how to love, how much better should I understand all things.

– From: Golden Grains, Eighth Edition, H.M. Gill and Son, Dublin, 1889

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 4, 2016 in Words of Wisdom

 

Tags: , ,

Comments are closed.