10 Feb



My child, it is not necessary “to know much” in order to please me; it suffices “to love me much.”

Address me as you would your mother, as if she were here and had you on her knee. Is there no one you desire to recommend to me? Tell me the names of your relations, your friends; after you mention each, add what you would wish me to do for them… Ask for very much. I love generous hearts who forget themselves for others.

Speak to me of the poor whom you wish to comfort, of the sick you have seen suffer, of the erring and sinful whom you desire to convert, of those who are estranged from you and whose friendship you wish to regain. For all say a fervent prayer. Remind me that I have promised to hearken to every prayer that comes from the heart; and are those prayers not heartfelt which we say for those we love and who love us?

“Have you not graces also to ask for yourself?” Write down, if you wish, a long list of your desires and of your soul’s wants. Then come and read it to me.

Tell me with simplicity how self-indulgent you are, how proud, how irritable, how selfish, how cowardly, how lazy, … and ask me to aid you in the efforts which you are making. Poor child, do not blush: there are countless saints in heaven who had faults such as yours, but they prayed to me, and corrected them by slow degrees.

Hesitate not also to ask me for gifts for body and mind – “health, memory, success…” I can grant everything, and I never refuse to give when the favours asked tend to render souls more holy. To-day, what do you wish for, my child? If you only knew how desirous I am to do you good!

Have you not plans which occupy you? If so, tell them to me in detail. Is it something about your vocation? What are you thinking of? What are your wishes? Is it some pleasure you are preparing for your parents, your family, or those upon whom you are dependent? What do you wish to do for them?

And for me – have you no thoughts of zeal, or do you not wish to effect some good in the souls of your friends or those who love you, but who perchance are forgetful of me? Tell me everything that interest you. What are the motives which influence you? what are the means you desire to use?

Make known your failures to me; I will show you the causes of them… Whom do you wish to interest in your endeavours? I am the Master of hearts, my child, and I lead them gently whither I will… I will give you all that you stand in need of, so be at rest.

Have you annoyances? If so, my child! relate them to me minutely. Who has caused you pain? Who has wounded your self-love? Who has treated you with contempt? Tell me everything, and all will end by your forgiving and forgetting… Then I will bless you! …

Do you fear some tribulation?

Is there in your soul some vague fear which, though unreasonable, torments you? Confide fully in my Providence… I am near you, I see all, I will not abandon you.

Are there persons about you less kind than they heretofore have been, or estranged from you, though you are not aware that you have done anything to wound them?… Pray to me for them, and I will restore them to you, if they are necessary to your sanctification.

Have you not some happiness to make known to me? Why do you not make me a sharer of your joys? Tell me all that has happened to you since yesterday – to console you, to gladden you, to cause you joy. What was it that did you good – an unexpected visit, a fear suddenly dissipated, a success you were fearful of not obtaining, a mark of affection, a letter, a souvenir received by you, a trial which left you stronger than you hoped? … It was I, my child, who did all that for you. Why do you not show your gratitude by saying frequently, I thank Thee? Gratitude multiplies favours, and the benefactor loves to be reminded of the good he has done.

Have you not promises to make to me? You know that I read the secret depths of your soul. Men may be deceived, but God never; be sincere, therefore… Are you resolved to no longer expose yourself to those occasions of sin? to drive from you those objects which do you harm? to give up the reading of books [and watching of media] which excite your imagination? to withdraw your friendship from those who are not pious, and whose presence disturbs the peace of your soul? Will you be kind immediately to the companion who has wounded you? … Well, my child, … go now; resume your daily labours; be silent, modest, resigned, and charitable; love sincerely the Blessed Virgin, and return to-morrow with a heart still more devoted and loving. I will then have new favours to bestow on you.

– From: Golden Grains, Eighth Edition, H.M. Gill and Son, Dublin, 1889



Tags: , , , , , ,

Comments are closed.