17 Feb

All of us are called to Sainthood. – How can I become a Saint?

It is very easy – let me only perform to the best of my ability each of my everyday duties. Many saints have not done more than what I have to do each day.

My days resemble each other… “Prayer, temporal occupations, the obligation of edifying and showing devotion to others, by remaining kind, charitable, and full of trust,” all filling in their turn the hours which God grants to me…If I acquit myself of these little duties with zeal and with an upright heart, God will come to my aid when, unconnected with my ordinary occupation, I encounter some weariness, suffering, or trouble.

Means of performing my actions well

I wish to perform them as if I were in the presence of God, and He saw my efforts and smiled upon them. I wish to perform them as if aided by my Guardian Angel, who for such objects has a special mission, and only waits till I pray for his assistance.

I wish to acquit myself of each of them, as if I had but one alone to perform: and I will not desist till I have done it as perfectly as possible.

I wish to perform each of them, as if upon its perfection depended my salvation; and it is true, if I die, performing it well for the sake of the good God, will it not lead me to heaven?

I wish to perform each one of them, as if upon its perfection depended the granting to the Church or to my relatives some long sought-for grace, which God will give as a reward for my application.

Motives for performing my actions well

God expects me to honour him by the actions which I have to perform.

God has attached a special grace to such an action, and awaits its accomplishment in order to grant it to me.

God will know that I love Him, if, in spite of my weariness, I apply myself to the performance of that action.

God records each of my actions which are well done, and later on they will form my crown in heaven.

God blots out many of my past faults, while, for the purpose of Him, I am trying to perform this action well.

God, by this action, receives from me, His poor, weak child, a glory which makes reparation for many blasphemies of the wicked, and many revolts of souls who will not submit to His divine will…

– From: Golden Grains, Eighth Edition, H.M. Gill and Son, Dublin, 1889



Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Comments are closed.