29 Feb

Suscipe – Offering Prayer to Our Lord

O my God! Thou hast made me very rich indeed.

My heart has treasures of love; I give them to thee!

I have a family, and thou knowest how I love them. If thou willest that death should lead them to heaven before me, my God, I say, but I say weeping: I give them to thee!

I have friends… If it is thy will that they should forget me; believe me guilty of wrong; withdraw from me, leaving my heart so isolated, that will be very painful and hard to bear; I give them to thee!

I have worldly goods, which afford me a certain degree of ease, and permit me to indulge in the sweet pleasure of giving alms to others poorer than I… If thou willst to take them from me degrees, even reducing me to absolute want; I give them to thee.

I have members that thou hast given me… If thou willest that paralysis should render my arms useless, that my eyes should cease to see the light of day, that my tongue may no longer articulate a word, O my God, I give thee all!

In exchange grant my thy love and thy grace, and then… nothing more but heaven.

Accept, O Lord, my Mind.

– From: Golden Grains, Eighth Edition, H.M. Gill and Son, Dublin, 1889

Leave a comment

Posted by on February 29, 2016 in Prayers for Today


Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Comments are closed.