RSS

OH! HOW HAPPY IS HE WHO CAN HAVE RECOURSE TO WORK AND PRAYER!

07 Mar

Oh! how happy is he who can have recourse to work and prayer in sad and desponding hours! – work, which powerfully distracts us, and prayer, which brings us sweet repose.

At such times, writes a holy soul, who had suffered much, I lay my complaints before God, as a child lays them before its mother. I become calmer when I have told Him all, and I can repeat with a more courageous heart the prayer of St Frances de Chantel, who certainly suffered more than I:

“Thy will be done to-day and for ever, O my God! without an “if” or a “but”

When I have said this, I hasten to occupy myself busily at my work, lest a murmur should arise in my heart.

– From: Golden Grains, Eighth Edition, H.M. Gill and Son, Dublin, 1889

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

Comments are closed.