RSS

GOD IS THERE; HE CAN DO ALL. HE LOVES ME; WHY SHOULD I FEAR?

15 Mar
GOD IS THERE; HE CAN DO ALL. HE LOVES ME; WHY SHOULD I FEAR?

God is there; He can do all. He loves me; why should I fear?

What a delightful thought!

Summed up in these few words, so easy to repeat: God knows it, and He loves me. Oh! what strength, what joy, what consolation they bring to my soul.

 

Without thought, but also without any bad intention, I committed an act which, wrongly interpreted, may affect my reputation and prevent the good which I ought to do. I fear the consequences; God knows it, and He loves me. If I entrust myself to Him, will He suffer me to become useless? Can He not hide what I have done – cause it to be forgotten by those who know it?

I am sick, and my malady becomes serious and leads me to fear unbearable suffering; God knows it, and He loves me. Will He send me suffering above my strength? Oh! no; I am sure that when He sends me suffering it is only because I need it, and that He will measure my strength with the prudence of a mother who metes out to her child a nauseous medicine.

Persons speak evil of me; God knows it, and He loves me. Will He not render the calumny a means of sanctification of my soul? What is necessary in order that a drop of poison may become salutary? That it should be given by a skilful hand and under favourable circumstances. Does not God know also how to administer it?

I am growing poor; I see my small fortune disappearing; my health is declining, I am growing weak; I am afraid of being a burden on others, of being abandoned. God knows it, and He loves me. Will He let me want for anything? Will He not always leave near me one heart, at least, which can understand mine?

God knows it, and He loves me! Oh! what marvellous power is in these words! They adapt themselves to every circumstance of life and to every situation of the soul. All that is necessary, in order that they may produce their effect is that we should watch over the purity of our souls and preserve our union with God.

– From: Golden Grains, Eighth Edition, H.M. Gill and Son, Dublin, 1889



 

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Comments are closed.