RSS

THE SWEETNESS OF THE NAME OF JESUS

12 Apr
THE SWEETNESS OF THE NAME OF JESUS

THE NAME OF JESUS GIVES ME COMFORT – IT HAS LIGHTENED MY MIND WITH THE HEAT OF UNCREATED LIGHT

Ah! That wonderful Name! Ah! That delectable Name! … Jesus is the Name that is above all names, Name together highest, without which no man hopes for health. This Name is sweet and joyful, giving truthful comfort into man’s heart.

A JOYOUS SONG

Soothly, the Name of Jesus is, in my mind, a joyous song, in my ear a heavenly sound, in my mouth honey-full sweetness. Therefore, it is no wonder if I love that Name, which gives me comfort in every anguish. I cannot pray, I cannot meditate but in sounding the Name of Jesus.

NO JOY WITHOUT JESUS

I savour no joy that is un-mingled with Jesus. Wheresoever I be, wheresoever I sit, whatsoever I do, the remembrance of the Name of Jesus departs not from my mind. I have set it as a token upon my heart, as a token upon my arm; for “love is as strong as death”.

EVERLASTING LOVE

As death slays all, so love overcomes all. Everlasting love has overcome me, not to slay but to quicken me. But it has wounded me in order to heal me; it has struck through my heart that it may be the more healthfully healed; and now, overcame, I yield.

UNLESS I LIVE FOR ETERNAL JOY, VERY SOON I MUST DIE

Unless I live for joy, very soon I must die, for I, in this feeble flesh, cannot suffice to bear so flowing a sweetness, and ever it falls into inebriation; the flesh cannot fail in its virtue awhile the soul in such joy is ravished to joy. But wherefore comes such joy to me but for Jesus? The Name of Jesus has taught me to sing, and has lightened my mind with the heat of uncreated light.
– Richard Rolle, 14th century

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 12, 2016 in Words of Wisdom

 

Tags: , , , , ,

Comments are closed.