RSS

WHAT SHALL I DO? – LITTLE OCCUPATIONS: THE SOWER OF PRAYERS

06 May
WHAT SHALL I DO? – LITTLE OCCUPATIONS: THE SOWER OF PRAYERS

THE SOWER OF PRAYERS

It was the poor mother of a family who made known to us this little occupation.

As she had a portion of her time at her disposal, she managed to pass several times a day through a street some distance from her work, thus prolonging her walk and increasing her fatigue.

Why, we asked, do you take this useless walk?

“Oh,” she replied, simply, “there is a person sick there who does not wish to be reconciled with God, and I go whenever I can to scatter some Hail Marys before his door.”

“I do not know if I am right, but I imagine that prayers are like drops of perfume sprinkled on the ground, from whence the sweet odour ascends to the chamber above. I believe that my Hail Marys will end by converting this poor soul.

“During two months I did the same before another house, and he who was sick within made his peace with God before his death.”

Quite a revelation

These simple words were quite a revelation. To sprinkle prayers about souls in order to embalm and to preserve them from corruption!

To sprinkle prayers over souls, that they may be purified and opened to receive the grace of God.

Who is there so weak, so little gifted, so convinced of his uselessness, as to be incapable of filling this little occupation in his family, in the street, or beside the beds of the sick?

– From: Golden Grains

 

Tags: , , , , ,

Comments are closed.