RSS

ALL THE FAITHFUL ARE CALLED TO BE SAINTS

01 Nov
ALL THE FAITHFUL ARE CALLED TO BE SAINTS

I wish to be a saint.

O Mary! thou hast adopted me as thy child; aid me to become a saint!

But I must be patient, humble, allow myself to be looked down on, and even satisfied when I see myself put to one side.

No matter, I am resolved; I wish to become a saint.

But I must never excuse myself, never be impatient, never yield to ill-humour.

Never mind, I am resolved; I wish to become a saint.

But I must constantly do violence to my inclinations, always submit my will to that of my superiors; never dispute and never pout, but continue to the end the work which I have commenced, notwithstanding any disgust or weariness I may feel.

No matter, my determination is fixed; I desire to become a saint.

But I must be very kind to all about me, love them and bear with them, render them some service every day, and be the more pleased according as it costs me the more trouble.

Never mind, I am resolved; I wish to become a saint.

But I must continually resist the impulse of my cowardly, slothful, proud nature. I must separate myself from the pleasures of the world. I must renounce the vanity which urges me to seek the admiration of others, the sensuality which leads to a want of moderation, the antipathy which causes me to avoid speaking to those I do not like.

No matter, I am firmly resolved; I wish to become a saint.

But I shall have long hours of sadness, of weariness, of disgust… I shall feel discouraged and lonely… No matter, I am resolved; I wish to become a saint, because then thou wilt be near me, thou wilt be with me, O my God.

O Mary! O my Mother! give me thy aid; wish to become a saint.

– From: Golden Grains, Eighth Edition, H.M. Gill and Son, Dublin, 1889

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

Comments are closed.