RSS

THE SAINTS FOUND THEIR REPOSE IN THE HEART OF JESUS

10 Nov
THE SAINTS FOUND THEIR REPOSE IN THE HEART OF JESUS

LET US DRAW NEAR TO JESUS CHRIST

Let us draw near to Jesus Christ; let us tremble and be ravished with joy at the thought of His Heart. Oh, how pleasant, how delightful, it is to dwell in this Heart!

I will adore, I will praise the name of the Lord in this temple, in this Holy of Holies, in this Ark of the Testament, saying with David: I have found a Heart to pray to my God, and this Heart is that of my King, of my most sweet Jesus.

Having found, then, O Jesus Christ, this Heart which is also mine, I will adore You, You, my God. Receive my prayers in this sanctuary of propitiation, nay more, draw me entirely into this Heart.

O Jesus Christ, a thousand times more beautiful than all the charms of the earth

O Jesus Christ, a thousand times more beautiful than all the charms of earth, wash me more and more from my iniquity; purify me from my sins, that I may approach You and gain the privilege of dwelling in Your Heart all my life; for Your Heart has been wounded thus to afford us a sure entrance.

Who, then, would not love this wounded Heart? Who would not return the affection of One Who loves him so much? Therefore, though still imprisoned in the bonds of the flesh, let us make Him what return we can; let us love, let us embrace this Divine Master, wounded for our sake, pierced in His Hands and Feet and Heart by impious executioners; let us keep near Him always, so that our hearts, still hard and impentinent, may be wounded by the arrows and bound by the chains of His love!

– St Bernard, from Laverty & Sons (eds), 1905

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 10, 2016 in Words of Wisdom

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

Comments are closed.