RSS

TO NEGLECT OUR DUTY IS TO COMPLAIN OF GOD, OR TO MURMUR AGAINST HIS WILL

11 Nov
TO NEGLECT OUR DUTY IS TO COMPLAIN OF GOD, OR TO MURMUR AGAINST HIS WILL

“The Lord gave, and the Lord hath taken away: as it hath pleased the Lord so is it done: blessed be the name of the Lord.” (Job1:21b)

A courageous woman was surprised, with her eyes full of tears, by one of her nieces who had brought a joyous band of children to visit her in order to amuse them.

What is the matter, aunt?

Affectionately embracing her niece, she replied: The weight on my heart is the blow which killed my son on such a day as this.

Oh, aunt! is to-day, then, the anniversary of his death? If you had told us so, we should not have worried you with our gaiety.

God forbid that I should make you bear the burden which oppresses me! That would be unjust. Poor children; is it because I am sad that you must not amuse yourselves?

And can you spend a day like this engaged in your ordinary occupations?

But, my child, is not fulfilling the duties of my state the best means of submitting my will to God, and thus securing a little consolation?

Know, my child, that when God sends us a cross, He wishes that we should bear it without neglecting on its account any of our duties, no matter how trifling they may be.

To neglect our duty is to complain of God, or to murmur against his will.

– From: Golden Grains, Little Counsels for the Sanctification and Happiness of Every-Day Life, H. M. Gill and Son, Dublin, 1889

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 11, 2016 in Words of Wisdom

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Comments are closed.