RSS

I DO NOT DESERVE THAT GOD SHOULD HEAR ME, FOR I AM A SINNER

14 Nov
I DO NOT DESERVE THAT GOD SHOULD HEAR ME, FOR I AM A SINNER

WE SHOULD PRAY WITH CONFIDENCE

“Ask and you shall receive.” God Himself has said it. How then, can we still doubt, since He has bound Himself by this promise, and consequently, cannot reject our prayer, or refuse us any grace really advantageous to our salvation? “By this promise,” says St Augustine, “He has constituted Himself our debtor.”

Hence we should never invoke God without the firmest confidence that we shall be heard. This is the best means of obtaining what we desire. “Whatever it may be,” says Our Lord again “that you ask for in prayer, be sure that you shall obtain it, and that you cannot fail to obtain it.”

Someone may say: I do not deserve that God should hear me, for I am a sinner. But Jesus Christ has said: “Whoever asks, receives.” Whoever, without distinction of just or sinner. For the power of prayer to obtain graces for us does not spring from our own merits, but from the mercy of God Who has pledged Himself by His promise to hear anyone who invokes Him.

“In all its demands,” says St Thomas “prayer relies, not upon our merits, but wholly on the mercy of God.” And to completely banish all fear, Jesus Christ says further: “Amen, Amen, anything that you ask My Father in My name, He will give it to you.”

– Laverty & Sons (eds), 1905

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Comments are closed.