RSS

PRAYER TO OUR LORD ON THE CROSS

07 Dec
PRAYER TO OUR LORD ON THE CROSS

My Crucified Jesus, mercifully accept the prayer which I now make to thee for help in the moment of my death, when all my senses shall fail me.

When, therefore, O sweetest Jesus, my weary and downcast eyes can no longer look up to thee, be mindful of the loving gaze which now I turn on thee, and have mercy on me.

When my parched lips can no longer kiss thy Most Sacred Wounds, remember then those kisses which now I imprint on thee, and have mercy on me.

When my cold hands can no longer embrace thy Cross, forget not the affection with which I embrace it now, and have mercy on me.

And when, at length, my swollen and lifeless tongue can no longer speak, remember that I called upon thee now.

Jesus, Joseph, Mary, to you I commend my soul.

[Indulgence of 300 days, once a day. Plenary twice a year. – Pius X, September 4th, 1903.]

– From St Anthony’s Treasury, Laverty & Sons, Leeds, 1916

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Comments are closed.