RSS

WHAT SHOULD I BE IF I HAD NOT BEEN REDEEMED BY THE BLOOD OF JESUS CHRIST?

03 Apr
WHAT SHOULD I BE IF I HAD NOT BEEN REDEEMED BY THE BLOOD OF JESUS CHRIST?

PRAYER TO THE PRECIOUS BLOOD.

[Indulgence, 300 days each time.]

O Most Precious Blood of Eternal Life, the ransom and redemption of the whole universe, the drink and bath of our souls, thou Who art ever pleading our cause of men before the throne of God’s sovereign mercy; I adore thee most profoundly, and desire, as far as it is in my power, to compensate thee for the insults and affronts which thou art continually receiving at the hands of men, especially of those who rashly dare to blaspheme thee.

And who is there that will not bless this Blood of infinite value? Who is there that will not feel himself inflamed with love for Jesus Who shed it? What should I be if I had not been redeemed by this Divine Blood? What was it that drew thee forth from the veins of my Lord, even to the last drop? Ah! it was nought else but love.

O boundless love, that has given us this balsam of salvation! O Balsam beyond price, streaming forth from the well-spring of a boundless love, grant, oh, grant that every heart and tongue may praise, and magnify, and bless thee, now and for ever, even unto the day of eternity! Amen.

V. Thou hast redeemed me, O Lord, with thy Blood.

R. And thou hast made us a kingdom unto our God.

– From: St Anthony’s Treasury, Laverty & Sons, Leeds, 1916

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 3, 2017 in Devotions

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Comments are closed.