RSS

“LET YOUR LIGHT DAWN, YOUR SALVATION BE SWIFT”

21 Jan

LORD, HAVE MERCY ON US AND ON THE WHOLE WORLD.

By Your noble and glorious Blood,
offered unceasingly to please God who sent You,
may the dangers be lifted from me, the condemned,
may my transgressions be forgiven,
may my vices be pardoned,
may my shamelessness be forgotten,
may my sentence be commuted,
may the worms shrivel,
may the wailing stop,
and the gnashing of teeth fall silent.
Let the laments lessen and tears dry.
Let mourning end and darkness be banished.
May the vengeful fire be stamped out
and torments of every kind be exiled.

May you who grant life to all be compassionate now.
Let Your light dawn, Your salvation be swift,
Your help come in time, and the hour of Your arrival be at hand.
May the dew of Your mercy quench the parched field
where my bones have fallen into the pit of death.
Prepare the earth for the day of light
and let the soil bloom and bring forth fruit,
heavenly cup of life-giving Blood,
ever sacrificed, never running dry
all for the salvation and life of the souls in eternal rest.

And though my body die in sin,
with Your grace and compassion,
may I be strengthened in You, cleansed of sin
through You, and renewed by You with life everlasting,
and at the resurrection of the righteous
be deemed worthy of Your Father’s blessing.
– St Gregory of Narek, 11th century

 
 

Tags: , , , , ,

Comments are closed.